Shaping the world through research

ETH’s Computer Science Department strives for the highest possible quality by performing research both broad and deep in scope. The faculty members are high-caliber experts in their domains and cover the many facets of modern computer science, from the underlying theory to the design of practical systems. The strength and reputation of the department’s research attract business and industry collaborations around the world.

Research groups

Institute Group
Institute of Computer Systems
Head: Prof. Thomas Gross

Laboratory for Software Technology
Prof. Thomas Gross, website

Native Systems Group
Prof. Jürg Gutknecht, website

Scalable Parallel Computing
Prof. Torsten Hoefler, website

Advanced Computing Laboratory
Prof. Markus Püschel, website

Institute of Information Systems
Head: Prof. Moira Norrie

Databases and Information Systems
Prof. Donald Kossmann, website

Global Information Systems Group
Prof. Moira Norrie, website

Institute of Theoretical Computer Science
Head: Prof. Ueli Maurer

Parallel Computing
Prof. Peter Arbenz, website
Prof. Bernd Gärtner, website

Complexity and Algorithms
Prof. Thomas Holenstein, website

Information Security and Cryptography
Prof. Ueli Maurer, website

Combinatorial Structures and Algorithms
Prof. Angelika Steger, website

Theory of Combinatorial Algorithms
Prof. Emo Welzl, website

Algorithms, Data Structures, & Applications
Prof. Peter Widmayer, website

Institute for Pervasive Computing
Head: Prof. Timothy Roscoe

Information and Communication Systems Research Group
Prof. Gustavo Alonso, website

Advanced Interactive Technologies
Prof. Otmar Hilliges, website

Distributed Systems Research Group
Prof. Friedemann Mattern, website

Network and Operating Systems
Prof. Timothy Roscoe, website

Institute of Visual Computing
Head: Prof. Marc Pollefeys

Computer Graphics Laboratory
Prof. Markus Gross, website

Computer Vision and Geometry Group
Prof. Marc Pollefeys, website

Interactive Geometry Lab
Prof. Olga Sorkine-Hornung, website

Institute of Information Security
Head: Prof. David Basin

Information Security Group
Prof. David Basin, website

System Security Group
Prof. Srdjan Capkun, website

Network Security Group
Prof. Adrian Perrig, website

Institute for Machine Learning
Head: Prof. Joachim Buhmann

Information Science and Engineering
Prof. Joachim Buhmann, website

Data Analytics
Prof. Thomas Hofmann, website

Learning and Adaptive Systems
Prof. Andreas Krause, website

Chair of Information Technology and Education
Head: Prof. Juraj Hromkovic

Information Technology and Education
Prof. Juraj Hromkovic, website

Scientific Visualization Group
Prof. Ronald Peikert, website

Chair of Software Engineering
Head: Prof. Bertrand Meyer
Software Engineering
Prof. Bertrand Meyer, website
Chair of Programming Methodology
Head: Prof. Peter Müller

Programming Methodology
Prof. Peter Müller, website

Software Reliability Laboratory
Prof. Martin Vechev, website

Chair of Computational Biology and Bioinformatics
Head: Prof. Gaston Gonnet

Computational Biochemistry
Prof. Gaston Gonnet, website

Computational Systems Biology Group
Prof. Jörg Stelling, website

Page URL:
© 2015 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich